Celebrating OK’s Best: Who will win Main Street Awards?

OKLAHOMA CITY — The Oklahoma Main Street Center announced the finalists of the program’s annual statewide awards competition. All finalists will be honored, and the winners announced, at the 27th annual Main Street Awards Banquet, May 3, at the Embassy Suites OKC Downtown/Medical Center Hotel.

“The Oklahoma Main Street Center received more than 250 nominations this year for 21 award categories,” said Linda Barnett, Oklahoma Main Street Center director. “These are the top events, volunteers, promotions, businesses, and designs in our 36 communities across Oklahoma. The competition is always fierce and all are deserving.”

Each award category falls under one of the “four points” in the Main Street Approach – Organization, Promotion, Economic Vitality and Design. Panels of outside judges for each point review the entries and determine the winners.

The Community of the Year Award will recognize the Main Street Community who led other towns by earning the most quality assurance points during the 2015 calendar year. The top 11 communities (in alphabetical order) include: Ada, Altus, Collinsville, El Reno, Enid, Hobart, Newkirk, Ponca City, Prague, Pryor and Woodward. The top community will also be announced at the banquet.

See the list of finalists here.

Source: Oklahoma Department of Commerce

Shared By